Classic Rock magazine gig preview

I recently did another interview with Classic Rock magazine, this time a live gig preview ahead of The Borderline show which is on January 23rd. Below is a short snippet from the interview, but the full version can be read in their January issue (available now) or on their website here

You’ve released your first solo album in 18 years. What have you been up to? I studied film soundtracks and ended up teaching. It took a long time to find a record label, to make my new album Second Thoughts, and then to locate the people who would allow me to play it live. I also had a baby son.

You describe the music on it as “proto-prog”?

The Nice developed a new style of music with The Thoughts Of Emerlist Davjack [1967] and I was a part of that. I was there at the beginning of prog rock, but The Nice were its prototype.

What prompted your return to the prog genre?

The continued success of The Thoughts Of Emerlist Davjack – I still get royalties. I consider_ Second Thoughts_ a sequel to that album and I hope fans of The Nice will enjoy it. I intend to make a series of albums that interlink like symphonies, and the next album is already under way.

